I just finished my first pair of knitted knockers and I want to continue knitting more in all sizes. How did I get this idea? Since we moved to Zürich I am looking for ways to keep myself busy. So I checked out the charity options in my area and this group called Knitted Knockers ZH (Zürich) caught my eyes. Being a breast cancer survivor myself, I was immediately intrigued by the idea. This is a way to put my knitting skills to good use.

In short Knitted Knockers are people who knit soft cotton breast prosthetics for women that have undergone mastectomy. They are a great alternative to the heavy, expensive and often uncomfortable traditional breast prosthetics. Something I can relate to all too well.

The Zürich group has just started. Hopefully we will be successful, so that the organisation will grow and provide help to many women.

The organisation was founded by Barbara Demorest who is a breast cancer survivor and wants to make life a little bit easier for women during their difficult times. So she came up with the idea of  an organisation to provide women with these soft knitted prosthesis right after their surgery  in the clinic.

img_1917
knockers with the stuffing
img_1918
size can be adjusted

 

If you like to learn more about the organisation or Barbara’s background story go to knittedknockers.org . With the provided patterns you can join the cause or you can request a knocker for yourself.

 

 

